Warning: mysql_connect(): Connection refused in /home/bathcomedy/099ZACU6/htdocs/past/2019/connection.inc.php on line 2

Warning: mysql_select_db() expects parameter 2 to be resource, boolean given in /home/bathcomedy/099ZACU6/htdocs/past/2019/connection.inc.php on line 3

THIS IS THE 2019 ARCHIVE SITE - Click here for the latest information

Bath Comedy Festival
Bath Comedy Festival - information for New Acts

Bath Comedy Festival has been designed to attract the cream of cutting edge talent but also to support New Acts wanting to make their mark.

The Bath Comedy Festival New Act Competition involves a series of heats, semi-finals and a Grand Final judged by a panel of industry experts.

The winner receives the Lovehoney Newcomer Award, 250 and a guaranteed paid Festival gig the following year.

Please note submissions are now closed for the 2019 competition.

Closing date for applications was midnight on Mon 4th March 2019 (UK time).

The Festival thanks Mirth Control for their help in coordinating the competition.

Bath Comedy Festival New Act Competition 2018 - Pete Latham wins inaugural Lovehoney Newcomer Award

This year's New Act Competition saw a total of 120 long-listed contenders battle it out over twelve heats and two semi-finals, with 10 finalists reaching the Grand Final, judged by a panel comprising comedy industry heavyweights including Graham Smith, Alan Nixon and Jill Edwards, plus Bath Comedy Festival Director Nick Steel. Here are the results:

First place: Pete Latham
Second place: Carl Carzana
Joint Third place: Thanyia Moore, Klaus White

Pete Latham receives the inaugural Lovehoney Newcomer Award, a cheque from Bath Comedy Festival for 250, plus a guaranteed paid appearance at next year's Gala show.

New Act Competition Winners
L-R Richard Longhurst (Lovehoney), Nick Steel (Bath Comedy), Geoff Whiting (Mirth Control), Carl Carzana, Pete Latham, Klaus White, Thanyia Moore, Les Redwood (Visit Bath)
Photo by Lloyd Ellington

The announcement was live-streamed on Twitter - click here to watch the video

A separate presentation of the trophy was made at a special gathering of Festival supporters, patrons and friends, held at The Royal Ocean Racing Club in London.

Lovehoney Newcomer Award presentation
L-R Les Redwood (Visit Bath), Geoff Whiting (Mirth Control), Nick Steel (Bath Comedy), Pete Latham, Vaneetha Balasubramanium (Lovehoney)
Photo by Kerrianne Gauld

Previous Winners

Winner - Pete Latham
2nd - Carl Carzana
Joint 3rd - Thanyia Moore & Klaus White

Winner - Sunjai Arif
Runner up - Benji Waterstones

Winner - Pav Rao
2nd - Mark Dennett
3rd - Faye Treacy
Special Commendation: Tamar Broadbent

Winner - Bethan Roberts
2nd - Phil Cooper
Joint 3rd - Aideen McQueen and Jay Cowle

Joint winners - Archie Maddocks and Paul Revill
Runner up - Russ Peers

Winner - Larry Dean
2nd - Garrett Millerick
3rd (joint) - Nico Yearwood & Jonathan Wagstaffe

Winner - Harriet Kemsley
2nd - Manos the Greek
3rd - Dan McKee

Winner - Matt Richardson
2nd - Andrea Hubert
3rd - Chris Turner

Winner - Mickey Sharma
2nd - Rob Beckett
3rd - Mark Simmons

Winner - Joe Lycett
2nd - Jo Selby